Skip to content ↓

World Class Schools

We are delighted to announce that UTC Reading has successfully been re-accredited as a World Class School for the second time, following initial accreditation in 2017.  

In comparison to the national inspection regime, WCSQM assesses students and not the school, and World Class Schools have to re-accredit every two years, to retain their status. Schools that have achieved re-accreditation, have been supporting their students to develop into World Class young people year on year, over a sustained period of time.    

Throughout the process, the unique award assesses whether students are World Class, against a skills and competency framework unique to organisation, because it measures young people’s readiness for the world of work and life in the 21st century. 

The re-accreditation process is challenging. Students have to work collaboratively with a partner World Class school, to prove to their partner students how their own school has supported them to retain their World Class credentials. The assessment framework is composed of skills and competencies that students need to be World Class citizens in a dynamic global economy.  

Through working in partnership, students develop their networking skills and become part of a World Class student alumni association which provides them with supportive, professional and potentially enduring relationships. 

Miranda Perry, Director at WCSQM, says: “At WCSQM we want to give World Class students at non-selective state schools what they deserve – World Class opportunities. We want our students to get the chance to partner and network with students from other World Class schools, so they become, collectively, a force to be reckoned with.” 

  • Active Learning
  • Microsoft
  • Cisco
  • University of Reading
  • Network Rail
  • Peter Brett