Level 3 BTEC Extended Diploma in Computing

What does this qualification cover?

By studying the L3 BTEC National Extended Diploma in Computing, you will explore and develop skills, knowledge and understanding across a range of different areas of computing, enabling progression to either higher education or employment in the computing sector. This qualification is equivalent to studying three A Levels. 

What’s included?

Seven mandatory modules (4 x exam-based, 3 x coursework-based)

The mandatory exam-based modules include study of computer systems, planning and management of computing projects as well as a software design and development project. The mandatory coursework-based modules include study of social media, systems security and encryption and studying the impact of computing. 

Six selective modules (coursework-based) 

Coursework-based modules include website development, mobile apps development, networking and virtualisation. Modules are split into theory-based research tasks as part 1, combined with given scenarios as a basis for practical exercises for part 2, and are graded on a Pass, Merit, Distinction and Distinction* basis. 

Students in Year 12 typically complete 6-7 modules in the first year of the course (2 exam-based and 3-4 coursework-based), with students going on to complete the remaining modules (2 exam-based and the remaining coursework-based) in the second year of the course. 

    Key Features

    Students completing the L3 BTEC National Extended Diploma in Computing will be equipped with and prepared for the logical and computational skills necessary to succeed at a tertiary education level, in the workplace or beyond. 

    Links to workplace

    As you work through the course, we will include sessions led by computing and IT companies which integrate with aspects of the course, including networking, coding and project management. 


    Year 10


    Year 12

    Our Partners